About KU

Kentucky Utilities Company (KU) is a regulated electric utility, based in Lexington, Kentucky, serving customers in 77 Kentucky counties and five counties in Virginia (under the name Old Dominion Power - ODP).


Kentucky Utilities officially began business on December 2, 1912 serving five properties (Versailles, Lawrenceburg, Somerset, Elizabethtown and Shelbyville). KU acquired Old Dominion Power Company (ODP) in 1926.

In 1998, KU's parent company, KU Energy, was acquired by LG&E Energy, which owned neighboring utility Louisville Gas and Electric Company. The acquisition of KU Energy, along with the 25-year lease agreement with Big Rivers Electric, more than doubled the size of LG&E Energy.

UK-based Powergen bought LG&E Energy in 2000, and in 2001, Powergen agreed to be acquired by Germany's E.ON. The deal was completed in 2002. In 2003, E.ON transferred LG&E Energy from Powergen to another subsidiary, E.ON U.S. Holdings.

In 2010, E.ON U.S. was acquired by PPL Corporation of Allentown, Pennsylvania.

Quick Facts

  • 558,000 electric customers in 77 Kentucky counties and five counties in Virginia.
  • Operates under the name Old Dominion in Virginia
  • 4,775 megawatts of regulated generation
  • 4,062 pole miles of electric transmission
  • 16,613 miles of electric distribution